About Fair Housing

If you, as an individual or family, are seeking housing, the Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination because of:

  • race
  • color
  • national origin
  • religion
  • sex
  • familial status: Children under 18 living with parents or legal custodians, pregnant women, or people trying to get custody of someone under the age of 18.
  • disability: mental and/or physical.

The term "housing" includes the following:

  • apartments
  • condominiums
  • duplexes
  • multi-unit dwellings:  rental units of 4 units or more
  • mobile homes/trailer courts
  • private homes and housing for sale
  • vacant land
  • homeless shelters (although not a place of permanent residence)
  • shelters for battered women and their families
  • group homes for recovery of drug addicts and alcoholics
  • seasonal bungalows
  • hospices
  • senior/nursing homes

How helpful do you find the information on this page?

Add comment

Table of Contents