What housing is covered by the Fair Housing Act?

The Fair Housing Act covers “dwellings”: any building, structure, or portion of a building that is occupied or intended to be occupied or where a person intends to return. The Act applies only if the owner has an interest in four or more homes/units (e.g., An apartment building with more than four units, a single home where the landlord owns three other homes, or a house with three bedrooms being rented to three different people and where the landlord maintains his own home). Examples of dwellings covered by the Fair Housing Act: single family homes, condominiums, duplexes, multi-unit dwellings (apartments), manufactured homes, private homes, vacant land, homeless shelters, shelters for victims of domestic violence, nursing homes, assisted living facilities.

Last updated on .
How helpful do you find the information on this page?
Please tell us why this page wasn't helpful
About text formats

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.

Table of Contents


    News & publications

    The news about recent activities for needed peoples.

    More News

    25 Aug 2017

    Court Rules that Same Sex Parent can Move Forward with Discrimination Suit Against the State of Idaho

    In an important step in securing equal rights for same-sex couples, a federal court ruled yesterday that an unmarried, lesbian mother can continue her fight to be recognized as the parent daughter.

    Continue Reading

    17 Jan 2017

    ILAS receives funds to help seniors from Idaho National Laboratory

    IDAHO LEGAL AID RECEIVES $1,440 GRANT Idaho National Laboratory, on behalf…

    Continue Reading

    Our Partners

    LSC's support for this website is limited to those activities that are consistent with LSC restrictions.